Lisel Mueller


Lisel Mueller was born in Hamburg, Germany in 1924. She has published six books of poetry with LSU Press, including Alive Together: New & Selected Poems (1996), which was awarded a Pulitzer Prize; Waving from Shore (1989); Second Language (1986); The Need to Hold Still (1980), winner of the National Book Award; The Private Life, the 1975 Lamont Poetry Selection; and Dependencies (1998). Her writing honors include the Carl Sandburg Award and a National Endowment for the Arts fellowship. She lives near Chicago, Illinois.

Alive Together - Cover
Alive Together
Dependencies - Cover
The Need to Hold Still - Cover
The Need to Hold Still
The Private Life - Cover
The Private Life
Second Language - Cover
Second Language
Waving from Shore - Cover
Waving from Shore