We’re 80!

80th logo_lsup-tsr_BW (1)This year marks LSU Press’s 80th anniversary and to celebrate our continuing contribution to scholarship and culture we will be highlighting select titles from our prestigious (and long) list of books.

As thriving university press for eight decades, LSU Press has been in operation throughout the Great Depression, World War II, and the centennial of the Civil War in the 1960s. The Press rang in the 1970s with poetry collections by Joyce Carol Oates and Miller Williams and was awarded its first Pulitzer Prize in 1980 for A Confederacy of Dunces. In the years following, LSU Press titles by Henry Taylor (1985), Lisel Mueller (1996), and Claudia Emerson (2005) would also win Pulitzer Prizes. As the publisher of historically important work like the classic, annotated edition of Twelve Years a Slave and as well as novels with significant cultural impact like The Lost Get-Back Boogie by James Lee Burke, LSU Press has remained an integral part of our University and its mission to disseminate knowledge and support creativity.

Follow LSU Press on Facebook, Instagram, and/or Twitter now to see the titles we’ve published from the advent of the paperback to the digital revolution.